Situated in an arid desert environment at the centre of the Australian continent, MacDonnell Shire features many iconic, panoramic landscapes which are easily accessed from Alice Springs. The picturesque swimming holes, magnificent flora and fauna, captivating mountain ranges with changing hues of red desert sands are reasons why the MacDonnell Shire is uniquely beautiful and has a deep and powerful strength that can only be felt when travelling across the land.

MacDonnell Shire Council officially commenced operations on 1St July 2008. Formed as a result of the Northern Territory Government Reforms, MacDonnell Shire covers the southern portion of the Northern Territory and has a land mass of 268,887km2.

Located within the Shire are 13 major remote communities, many outstations as well as numerous established and emerging enterprises in the pastoral, tourism and mining industries. The towns of Alice Springs and Yulara are excluded from the Shire. The total estimated population of MacDonnell Shire is 6,600 (based on the Census data and Northern Territory Government formula to calculate Population figures).

As part of the reform process the residents of 13 major communities located within the MacDonnell Shire are provided with a range of local government and other services by the Council. These communities are Amoonguna, Utju / Areyonga, Kaltukatjara / Docker River, Aputula / Finke, Ikuntji / Haasts Bluff, Ntaria / Hermannsburg, Walungurru / Kintore, Imanpa, Warumpi / Papunya, Tapatjatjaka / Titjikala, Wallace Rockhole, Watiyawanu / My Liebig, Ltynetye Apurte / Santa Teresa.