Level 3, TCG Centre | 80 Mitchell Street, Darwin | GPO Box 2419, Darwin NT 0801 T 08 8999 5000 | F 08 8999 7630 | E mail.ntec@nt.gov.au | ABN 8408 5734 992

OUR REF: YOUR REF:

Mr Jeff MacLeod Chief Executive Officer MacDonnell Regional Council PO Box 5267 Alice Springs NT 0871

Dear Jeff,

RE: LURITJA PINTUBI WARD BY ELECTION RESULT

In compliance with Local Government (Electoral) Regulation 56(1) (b), I have attached a copy of the result of the MacDonnell Regional Council, Luritja Pintubi ward by election that was scheduled for 17 August 2018.

At the close of nominations, only one (1) nomination was received for the vacancy of an ordinary council member for the Luritja Pintubi Ward of the MacDonnell Regional Council. Pursuant to Regulation 10 (3) of the Local Government (Electoral) Regulations, Sarah Stockman was therefore declared duly elected.

A copy of the declaration of the poll for the election is enclosed.

The Minister has been advised of the result of the election.

Should you have any further queries, please do not hesitate to contact me on telephone 8951 5972

Yours sincerely

Tyrone Daniels Project Officer

3 August 2018

EVERY vote counts!



COUNCIL BY-ELECTION



Voting is compulsory

DECLARATION OF DULY NOMINATED CANDIDATE MACDONNELL REGIONAL COUNCIL/LURITJA PINTUBI WARD

Good afternoon, welcome to the public declaration of nominations for the MacDonnell Regional Council/Luritja Pintubi Ward by-election, my name is Tyrone Daniels and I am an authorised officer for this election.

The by-election was caused by one (1) casual vacancy in membership and in accordance with section 86(1) of the *Local Government Act*, the Electoral Commissioner set Friday 17 August 2018 as the by-election date.

Nominations to stand as a candidate for this by-election were invited on 13 July 2018 and at close of nominations 12 noon, today, 3 August 2018 the following nomination has been received:

Sarah STOCKMAN

As there is one (1) vacancy and one (1) nomination I therefore, under regulation 10(3) of the Local Government (Electoral) Regulations, declare Sarah Stockman duly elected to the position of Ordinary Council Member for the MacDonnell Regional Council/Luritja Pintubi Ward.

The result of today's election will be provided to the Minister for Local Government, posted on the Northern Territory Electoral Commission website and provided to the MacDonnell Regional Council

This concludes the declaration.

Tyrone Daniels
Authorised Officer

3 August 2018



Chief Executive Officer MacDonnell Regional Council PO Box 5267 ALICE SPRINGS NT 0871

Attention: Jeff Macleod

MACDONNELL REGIONAL COUNCIL BY-ELECTION: LURITJA PINTUBI WARD RESULTS

Dear Jeff

In accordance with *Local Government (Electoral) Regulation* 56(1)(c), I hereby notify you of the result of the by-election for one Councillor for the Macdonnell Regional Council Luritja Pintubi ward that was held on Friday 01 December 2017.

Three candidates contested the election for one Councillor Vacancy and the number of first preference votes polled by each candidate was as follows:

Audrey Turner 96 Giselle Barku 111 Dalton McDonald 162

Total 1st Preference 369

As a consequence, under the proportional representation voting system the quota of votes required for this election was 185.

Following the distribution of preferences the results were as follows:

Giselle Barku 163 Dalton McDonald 206

Candidate Dalton McDonald was therefore declared duly elected in accordance with regulation 56 of the *Local Government (Electoral) Regulations*.

If you have any further queries, please do not hesitate to contact me on telephone 8999 7614.

Yours sincerely

Iain Loganathan

Electoral Commissioner

08 December 2017



MacDonnell Regional Council by-election Luritja Pintubi Ward

First preference votes by voting centre

Thist preference votes by voting centre										
Voting centre	Audrey TURNER	Giselle BARKU	Dalton MCDONALD	Formal	Informal	Total				
Alice Springs	0	0	0	0	0	0				
Mobile Team Haasts Bluff	4	14	25	43	1	44				
Mobile Team Kintore	21	74	37	132	3	135				
Mobile Team Mt Liebig	60	7	13	80	0	80				
Mobile Team Papunya	7	16	86	109	2	111				
Mobile Team Alice Springs 1	0	0	0	0	0	0				
Alice Springs EVC	4	0	1	5	0	5				
Total	96	111	162	369	6	375				
	26.0%	30.1%	43.9%	98.4%	1.6%	38.7%				

Enrolment 968

Distribution of preferences: Quota = 185

	Audrey TURNER	Giselle BARKU	Dalton MCDONALD	Exhausted	Total				
1st preference votes	96	111	162	0	369				
excluded	0	52	44	0	96				
Progressive	0	163	206	0	369				

Count updated: 8 Dec 2017 12:03 pm