Council voting closes

26 August 2017

Voting for the 2017 NT Local Government election closed at 6pm on Saturday 26 August.

MacDonnell Regional Council elects twelve members from its four wards. Councillors are elected for four year terms. Elected members elect their President and Deputy President from the twelve member Council.

The number of people who nominated for councillors positions matched the number required for Iyarrka ward and Ljirapinta ward. The candidates in those wards are declared elected councillors for the MacDonnell Regional Council. As a result the communities of Areyonga, Hermannsburg, Wallace Rockhole, Docker River, and Imanpa did not need to vote.

In the Luritja Pintubi ward five candidates stood for election to the three councillor positions. In Rodinga a field of seven candidates stood for election to the four positions. Mobile voting was carried out in communities and major outstations in those wards.

Following the close of polling a primary count of ordinary, postal and early votes commenced. Current election results are available online for each ward:
Iyarrka ward
Ljirapinta ward
Luritja Pintubi ward
Rodinga ward

The NT Electoral Commission will declare the elected councilors for all MacDonnell Regional Council wards at a public event at their offices in Alice Springs from 12noon on Monday 4 September.