MacDonnell Regional Council appoints its President and Deputy

18 September 2017

Following the 2017 NT local government elections MacDonnell Regional Council held its first meeting on Friday 15 September. Newly elected councillors joined with re-elected councillors to nominate and vote for their principal members, the President and Deputy President.

Resulting from the meeting:

Roxanne Kenny was re-appointed as President of MacDonnell Regional Council,

and Greg Sharman was appointed as her Deputy President.

Roxanne Kenny was returned as President having been previously elevated to the position early last year. She had initially served as Deputy President since 2009 and as an elected councillor representing Ljirapinta Ward since the Council’s inception in 2008. Roxanne lives on an outstation near Hermannsburg.

Greg Sharman lives in Titjikala and has served in the MacDonnell Regional Council since 2012 as an elected councillor representing Rodinga Ward. He has also served as an Executive Board Member of the Local Government Association of the Northern Territory representing Regional and Shire Councils.

In accepting her return as President of MacDonnell Regional Council, Roxanne said “Let’s talk, listen and walk together and try and solve the problems together as a strong Council and work with our constituents – people in the shops, clinics, station owners and schools – they are the people who voted for us”.
“In wishing our principal and elected members well in their leadership, MacDonnell Regional Council congratulates all other elected members to their respective local government Councils in the NT and looks forward to working them over the coming four years” CEO Jeff MacLeod said.

download media release as PDF