​Ten years of service recognised

17 July 2018

As a NAIDOC Week celebration, council services across its 13 remote Aboriginal communities closed for the afternoon as residents and staff of MacDonnell Regional Council celebrated ten years of local government.

Local residents in each community gathered together for the celebrations as Council staff fired up the barbeques. Councillors and executive staff made speeches acknowledging the changes seen in their communities before presenting 10 Years Service medals to each community’s long serving staff members.

The medals presented on this occasion recognise the long term contribution of its foundation staff but will continue to be presented to all staff over the coming years on their 10 year anniversaries. Along with the medals a letter from the CEO and a certificate where presented.

Once presented with a medal, residents gave a generous applause showing their appreciation of each staff member’s contributions to their community.

Community staff awarded with a 10 Years Service medal include: Leroy Riley from Amoonguna; Kathleen Windy from Areyonga; Rosemary Matasia from Finke; Derek Egan and Susie Lane from Haasts Bluff; Kathleen Abbott from Hermannsburg; Ashley Wiseman from Imanpa; Jeffrey Wheeler from Mt Liebig; Graham Hayes, Graeme Stuart and Lawrence Webb from Santa Teresa; Debra Claude, Durrie Farmilo, Malcolm Moneymoon, Malcolm Orr, Roxanne Ungwanaka and Douglas Wells from Titjikala; and Max Baliva and Ada Williams from Wallace Rockhole.

Long term staff employed in the Alice Springs office at the council’s formation where also recognised. These included Levina Phillips who began working for the council before the legislated start date in an incubator styled team as the Executive Assistant to the Chief Executive Officer. These also included current directors Simon Murphy and Graham Murnik as well as the current Chief Executive Officer Jeffery MacLeod.

See media release as PDF